How to Build Your Warrior of Light in Final Fantasy XIV Online, Available on Xbox Today

We’re excited to announce that the full release of the critically acclaimed MMORPG, Final Fantasy XIV Online, has launched today on Xbox Series X|S! Players will have plenty of content to enjoy before its newest expansion, Dawntrail, arrives this summer! The full release also lifts the restrictions present in the open beta.

Even better news is that, until April 19, players who pick up the game for Xbox Series X|S will be able to receive Early Purchase Bonuses to help them on their adventures, and Game Pass Ultimate subscribers will be able to receive the Starter Edition through their Perks, giving them complete access to three games in one for free!

Final Fantasy XIV Online has so much to offer in terms of customization and playable content! Learn more about the eight starting classes and their three starting locations that you can take into consideration when creating your very own Warrior of Light.

Creating Your Own Warrior of Light

Creating your character is the first step in your new adventure! Choose the new ‘you’ without worry, as all the race and gender options are equal. And don’t fret on choices at the start too much, as all are possible to change later!

During character creation, you will select a starting class that you can level into iconic Final Fantasy series jobs. There are eight starting classes to choose from, and many more to level and master as you progress. Not just battle-focused classes and jobs, but also classes related to crafting and gathering.

Don’t fret if you want to try more than one, as you can play all the available classes and jobs on a single character. You simply need to change your main hand weapon or tool and voila!

Choose Your Role

There are three roles that the various battle-focused classes and jobs fall under: Tanks, Healers, and DPS (which itself has different types).

Tanks – High in HP and trained in defense, a tank serves as the party’s shield. Skilled at keeping a foe’s attention and bearing the brunt of enemy attacks.

Healers – Healers use restorative arts to mend wounded companions. They can also help to mitigate damage, remove detrimental effects, and even bring fallen allies back to life.

DPS Types

  • Melee DPS are close-range attackers. Focused on combos and careful positioning to inflict the maximum amount of damage.
    Physical ranged DPS attack foes from a distance. They excel at inflicting sustained damage, and also provide support for companions.
    Magical ranged DPS attack foes using a variety of arcane arts. Movement is restricted by casting times, but they excel at inflicting high burst damage.

Starting Locations

Your character’s starting class will not only determine your initial play style, but also where you begin your journey; in one of three beautiful city-states:

  • Gridania
  • Ul’dah
  • Limsa Lominsa
  • Gridania
  • Ul’dah


  • Gridania – In the eastern reaches of the Aldenard landmass, home to vast, dense woodlands and coursing rivers, lies the forest nation of Gridania. The cityscape is a mosaic of labyrinthine waterways and great wooden structures, so gracefully constructed they seem a part of the surrounding environment.
  • Limsa Lominsa – On the southern coast of the island of Vylbrand, under the shadow of ancient cliffs worn by the relentless onslaught of the Rhotano Sea, lies the marine city-state of Limsa Lominsa. Said to be blessed by the goddess of navigation, Llymlaen, the city is spread out over countless tiny islands, each connected by sturdy bridges of iron and wood construction, earning her the name the “Navigator’s Veil” from traveling bards who have witnessed the city’s beauty from afar.
  • Ul’dah – The bustling commercial hub of Ul’dah sits amid the desolate desert landscape of southern Aldenard. The city is organized strategically around the dome-shaped citadel at its center. Its towering fortifications and protective outer walls are visible for malms in all directions, and serve as a stark deterrent to would-be besiegers.

Below are where the eight starting classes begin and how they evolve into iconic Final Fantasy jobs:

RoleStarting ClassEvolved JobStarting Location
TankMarauderWarriorLimsa Lominsa
HealerConjurerWhite MageGridania
Healer/DPSArcanistScholar (Healer) or Summoner (DPS)Limsa Lominsa
DPSThaumaturgeBlack MageUl’dah

Of course, your adventures will extend far beyond these starting city-states and early class choices. You’ll be able to venture into a wide variety of new locations and learn a multitude of battle-focused jobs, as well as more easygoing crafting and gathering classes throughout your time in Eorzea.

Players are welcome to experience all that Final Fantasy XIV has to offer on the Xbox Series X|S today!

Dip your toes in with the Starter Edition which includes A Realm RebornHeavensward, and Stormblood—the equivalent of three full Final Fantasy titles! Then, once you’re ready, you can purchase the Endwalker expansion which also includes Shadowbringers, further expanding the breadth of content available! Or dive headfirst into the full offering with the Complete Edition, which includes the three Starter Edition titles and the two most recent expansions: Shadowbringers and Endwalker.

For players who are looking for even more information on how to start the game, check out our Starter Guide series. The seven-part video series offers early tips and tricks for new players to get the most out of their adventures in Eorzea. The series follows the journey of new player Kaz and his mentor Mayra, who guides him through his first steps in FFXIV. You can check out the whole series in a playlist here!

Previous open beta players and new players alike are invited to enjoy the Free Trial, which includes A Realm Reborn, Heavensward, and Stormblood with no restrictions on play time and progress carrying over from the open beta. Note that there are in-game restrictions associated with the Free Trial, but these can be lifted by upgrading to the full game.

Please note that by registering the Starter Edition or Complete Edition to your account, will no longer be eligible for the Free Trial and a paid subscription will be required to play. (New accounts starting with the Starter Edition or the Complete Edition will receive a 30-day free play period. The 30-day free play period can be applied once to each platform on a single service account, so cross platform users can also enjoy this benefit.) Additionally, a subscription to both FFXIV and Xbox Game Pass (Core or Ultimate) is required to play.

Leave a Reply Cancel reply